Lycaon’s New Single, Shadow


by Amy, posted November 18, 2014

Lycaon fans awaiting the release of Camera Obscura next year have something to tide themselves over with. The quintet has just released their single Shadow, which European fans got a taste of on their recent tour.

The eponymous track is an ensemble of electronica, violins, and piano, all overlaid with Yuuki’s distinctive, tender vocals. Whilst jaunty and catchy, the vaguely haunting vocals at the bridge give this track a faint trace of symphonic metal sound. B-sides can often overshadow the main release but the rather elegant “Anima”—though featuring some interesting use of instruments and vocals—feels rather busy in comparison and doesn’t stay with you the same way that “Shadow” does.

Snagging the regular edition of the single will grant you one extra song, “Akai Ringo.” This is a fun number that begins with a descending scale before concluding with a unique riff that continues throughout the song. “Akai Ringo” feels quite grand and it’s very hard to call whether this or “Shadow” is the strongest track on the single.

Shadow is a tasty little titbit to keep fans satisfied until Lycaon’s full release but will probably have many hungry for more great music, hopefully in the same vein. Overall the release harbors a truly regal and imposing set of tunes that utilize a number of instruments to make for some intriguing riffs and melodies.

Regular Edition

  1. Shadow
  2. Anima
  3. Akai Ringo

Limited Edition

  1. Shadow
  2. Anima

Amy happened across Dir en grey on a used computer and became enamored by the aesthetics and androgyny of visual kei. Amy studied Japanese at university, including a year studying abroad in Tokyo. Interests include anime and manga, reading, learning languages, playing guitar, and holding on to the futile dream of one day meeting Johnny Depp. Amy hopes to bring the overseas fans closer to the bands they love by translating material related to them.

Post Comment